Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Thoughts...

I've been cranky this week. I think it's partly the weather. This winter has been gross. It's never been bad enough for a snow day (well, except for that one day that I ran into a pole...but we didn't get a snow day that day. Even though we should have. I am not bitter...not at all.) It has, however, been ridiculously cold on many occaisions. An entire week of indoor recesses will make a 2nd grade teacher cranky. If you don't believe it, you should try it sometime. Being inside with 22 eight-year-olds nonstop for 2 weeks is enough for anyone. Poor kids. Poor me.

I've been thinking a lot the past few days about being a parent (no, I am not pregnant...but half of my friends are...and I am around kids more than most normal people). I've also been thinking about how school systems have changed over the years. I'm wondering what's good and what's bad about how things have progressed. In some ways, kids are so much more advanced. I am amazed by some of the things we do in 2nd grade math, and I know that we teach a more in-depth method or writing than I was ever taught...and I think those things are good. I think differentiated instruction is great...I love being able to meet kids where they are and help them develop. But at the same time, I am having to teach things as a teacher that I feel like my parents taught me well before I was in school. Some of these items include:

1. Follow directions the first time they are given.
2. Do not interrupt when someone else is talking.
3. Never, ever argue with an adult who is in charge of you.
4. If you lose something that you are responsible for, no one is going to get you a new one.
5. If you lie, you will be found out and you will get in trouble.
6. At a certain age, you have to show self-control. Rolling around on the floor during school, spinning circles in line, poking yourself in the eye with your scissors...those are not showing self-control.
7. If you are given directions several times and choose not to follow them, there will be consequences.
8. No one is going to do your work for you. You will need to take initiative and learn how to do things on your own.
9. Etc...etc...etc.

I am wondering if my parents were just extra in-tune, or if times really are changing. So many parents, I feel, focus a lot on academics and not enough on proper behavior, respect, self-motivation, and integrity. It can be frustrating as a teacher to spend 75% of a day teaching things that, I feel, should have been taught long ago. And more and more, I feel that educators' hands are getting tied...we may not take away recess time as a consequence...we may not have students finish work during recess (even if the student has spent an entire day just sitting there, doing nothing). It is frowned upon to retain a child...and I feel always that people are watching me to see if I am going to do something that is going to ruin a child's self esteem. I am wondering if some of these reasons are why America no longer is considered one of the leaders in education. I am wondering if, someday, we will come full-circle and go back to corporal punishment, one room schoolhouses, and Basal readers. I just don't know all the answers (no, I do not support going back to any of these things). And now that all of our budgets are getting cut, I wonder what is going to happen next. I just worry about where things are headed. And I am baffled as to how I came to the point that this is my 7th year in education...wow....I am getting so very, very old.

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Ode to D

Today I am officially old..my baby brother turns 21. As I write this, he is on his way out for a wild night of honey barbecue wings at B-Dubs and a Coke. It's so nice not to have a brother that you have to worry about on his 21st birthday. The wildest thing he will probably do is get the Asian Zing instead of the honey barbecue.

D and I have had some good times together. There was the time I made him saltwater popcycles...the time I dressed him as a lady...oh, and the time I chased him with a butcher knife. And when he was 3 weeks old, I dragged him onto the top bunk and left him there for a little bit. Memories.

I'm pretty lucky in that I have never had a sibling fight. Truth be told, we are both too passive to have any fights. We have a lot of fun though...I wish he weren't all the way in Joplin. I miss our late night Cosby marathons, trips to Wendy's, and talks about God.

Cheers, little bro...I miss you. Go find yourself a nice lady and move back to Topeka to live with us.

Thursday, January 15, 2009

And now that 2 months have passed...

I have been terrible at updating my blog. I have. There's no excuse...aside from the following.

1. When your heater goes out for a week, it's hard to blog...particularly in 20 degree weather. You have to wear mittens in the house. It's hard to type in mittens. So...no blog for mid-December. Just a lot of huddling around a space heater and cursing.

2. It's hard to blog when you just got married. You are spending too much time doing other things. All kinds of things. So...no blogging in November.

3. It's hard to blog during winter break. Winter break is for sleeping until noon, cooking stratas and homemade bagels and buckeyes and toffee and soups and other delicious things. Winter break is for playing with your presents and drinking too much wine on New Year's Eve. No blog for winter break.

4. It's hard to blog when work is kicking your butt. So...no blog for the entire month of January. And possibly from this moment until May.

As for the things on my mind...here they are:

Yesterday I found a piece of paper in the area where the 2nd grade Boys and Girls Club does their homework each afternoon. The paper, in terrible handwriting, stated, "I like big butt and I cannot ligh". I don't know what makes me madder. The fact that 2nd graders are writing about that in school or the fact that they don't know their plurals OR their long-i spelling patterns. Anyhow, upon further investigation, I came to find out my students were not the ones writing the Big Butts lyrics. They were, however, the ones suggesting to others that they should write it. That's my class...even lazy when they are being naughty.

Somehow, I became the head of the Wellness Committee at school last year. I find this highly amusing, since I am not well. I hate to exercise. I love to eat french fries. My sleep schedule is a train wreck. However....I somehow fell into this role. Next week, Body Venture is coming to our school. I guess this is a big deal, since my handbook tells me I should notify the media so they can come cover it on the local news. Planning Body Venture has been a huge thorn in my side. I am ready for it to be over. When it's over, I am going to celebrate with a huge meal at Free State Brewery, and I'm not even going to feel bad about it. Then, I'll start working on "Blast Into Fitness!" week.

Being married is a lot of fun. It's like having a cute boy always in your house. We go on dates still. Last week we went and saw Desperaux. The other night, we made a taco salad together. It's weird that the big wedding is over. I need something else big and fun to plan. Something better than Body Walk.

I wish my animals would be better behaved. Today, Pencey decided to poop all over Mat's backpack for no reason. Sumo is still mad about the dog, so once a day he pees on the laundry room floor to remind us how much he hates us. And Max...is out of control. So far today he has tried to eat lotion, an identification card, a bag, a Christmas gift bow, a box that some checks came in, both cats, and my dinner.

My finger still hurts. I had my last appointment with the doctor last week, and he said it's probably not going to get any better. Darnit. It's so ugly. It's one of those bent fingers that you show people to freak them out...."Look how ugly my finger is!" "GASP! That is SO UGLY!". Stupid couch. Stupid clumsy genes. Stupid baby labrador.

Mat has a new internship at the capitol building in Ray Merrick's office. He likes it so far. I like it because he comes home in a suit and tie, and that's really hot.

Typically, I would try to put something moderately pensive in my blog. However, it is 10:00 at night and I haven't been home from work for very long. Really, I am updating because my brother threatened to kick me off of his "blogs you should read" list. And that would really hurt my feelings. When I write again (in May), I will say something thought-provoking, life-altering, and beautiful. For tonight...I will just say that I hope everyone is doing well and staying warm in this crappy, crappy winter weather.